Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

Special Ed MMO’s 70’s Style playing


This may not be to PC to call it, But this is the way a lot of games feel to me.

Back in the 70’s there was a few kid’s at my school that went to a class called special ed, Later on it would be called LD or learning disability. They was the kids that took longer to learn things than the rest of the kids. 70’s style is talking about the way thing was back then. Now day’s they really learn and people understand how to help them. Back then, They didn’t understand what was going on, and Well it was play time, or more like a daycare for them than any thing. I know, I was there with them. Still today, It takes me way longer to learn things than most people.

That being said

What I all ways found to be a big pull to a MMO is the learning of the game. It was the part that pulled you into the game. A few of us talk about the big red easy button. I think when we talk about that big red button, We are really talking about the lack of learning in the newer MMO’s. I think that is why so many people like EvE so much, But can’t play it long. We have had things so dumbed down for us that when something new like EvE comes out ( I know eve is not that new ) and says this is your world, and it takes some thinking to deal with it. We freak out and go running back to a game that does not make us think so much. I hope that my new main MMO (Fallen Earth) has found itself where the soft spot is with learning. It’s nice an open game and yet has some rules to it so that we don’t freak out to bad.

It seems like instead of trying to find that place where your players has to think a little for them self, and not just pushing them of the side of the cliff with to much thought. Most MMO componeys are going with the hold your hand so no one has to do any thinking, Just like they did way back in the 70’s when I was in special ed.

How did we get to this place where thinking is a bad thing?

Alik Steel

January 6, 2010 - Posted by | General MMO stuff

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

