Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

The Gulf of Despair


The best laid schemes of Mice and Men oft go awry,
And leave us nothing but grief and pain, for promised joy!

      — Robert Burns, To a Mouse (Poem, November, 1785)

 

I know, I know, It’s only been a day now, and I am talking of Despair. Well, when I got to work this morning and got the office open and ready for the day, I started looking around at what I may want to jump into next. Thinking there is got to be some MMO that was going to pop out at me, and I would be bouncing on my toes, waiting to get home and check this new(to me) MMO out. That did not happen!

 I have two MMO’s that I am playing around with, but not seeing them being any thing like a main MMOG for me. DDO and Wurm both are fun and I do enjoy my time in them, but it’s not like I had a month ago. When I could not wait to get home and get into EQ2. I have been looking at Darkfall, But I am not a big PvP player. There is a few more MMO’s that will be coming out soon, That look good, but I think they will be a lot like DDO, or Wurm. They will be fun to log in and hang out for a bit, but nothing like a mian  game.

The biggest problem for me, Is that I don’t really know what I want next. I am so sick of quest, I know I want something that I can do, Without having to deal with them. I could deal with playing a game that had quest in it, As I have done this for many years in a game that had the word quest right in the name. I just don’t want to find myself in a mmog that makes you do them to level, or skill up. Right now there just not any thing out there that would be a AAA MMORPG that fit’s what I am looking for. This is why I feel that I am swimming in the gulf of despair.

This is the first time since I started playing MMO’s that I have no idea what I want to play next, And it’s scary not knowing where I will end up.

 

Alik Steel

September 26, 2009 - Posted by | Alik Steel | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I hear where you’re coming from about not being inspired but the current crop of MMOs. If I was still blogging, I’d post about how much I miss being in love with a MMO. For me, my MMO of choice is my guilty pleasure. That thing that I do for me only that is the dessert for all the hard work you do in your life – some of if pleasing and some of it, not so much. Some people sit down with a pint of their favorite ice cream for solace or throw back some drinks. I enjoy romping around in a fantasy world where I can face demons and slay dragons. I’m enjoying Aion but I am by no means, in love.

    Comment by Saylah | September 26, 2009 | Reply

    • I started off in EQ, and jumped into EQ2 without missing a beat. Thats been like 8+ years ago now. LOL In a little way, It feels like a break up. Just not as bad.

      Comment by Alik Steel | September 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. I cancelled my Station Access account a couple of months ago, and Mrs Bhagpuss’s too. Ten years from EQ through EQ2 through Vanguard. We started WoW, five years after everyone else, and realised we’d be playing it so much we wouldn’t be using any of the SoE games, so with some reluctance we cancelled. I am certain we will be re-subbing for the expansions, though.

    Of course, along the way we’ve played literally dozens of other MMOs, some just for a few days, others for years. But those SoE ones are the backbone of the last decade.

    Have you played Vanguard, Alik? To a great degree it really is EQ 2.5. So much there is familiar from EQ, not just the races and classes but even the names of the spells and the exact levels you get them. I would thoroughly recommend it if you haven;t already tried it. I think it completely loses direction from about level 45 and becomes utterly, tediously hardcore, but the first 45 levels are a total joy, and will give anyone six to nine months of entertainment.

    Other than that, there’s one MMO in beta that I can’t name because of the NDA, but which is excellent and which should be in open beta soon.

    Comment by Bhagpuss | September 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Yes, I have played Vanguard. When it was in beta, and also for a few months, After it had been out for a year or so. It is a good MMO, Just not what I am looking for right now.

      Comment by Alik Steel | September 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

