Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

The end of the EQ2 era


Sad day in the life of Alik Steel the gamer. I am walking away from a game that I have played from Beta. EverQuest II has been my home for 5 years (counting beta) and I have enjoyed it for the most part. I have talked about how when you have the amount of content that EQ2 puts in the game, Your going to get bugs. When they started adding code into the game, for TSO things start getting bugged  up on the AB sever. I can not speak for any other sever, But for 11 months the players of the AB sever has had to deal with crash after crash. Then for a few months it did get better, but then they added the $25.00 character transfer. And ton’s of players came to AB sever. Thinking that with such large sever population that it was going to add to there gaming fun. I am sure it may have for some, But to most, I am sure it was the same as the way I was feeling about it. Frustrated for the most part, Frustrated that with a game as old as EQ2 is that they can not keep the biggest sever up and running, after doing this last Game Update. We have had 3 big crashes. Forget about all the othere times that the game, or just AB sever would go daown for no reason what so ever.. We have had three big Game Updates, And they can not keep the AB sever up  at the peck playing times. Sure the first part of the day is fine with lowwer population on the sever. Then at peck playing times, It crashes, not just once, but at lest 2 times that night. the the other two updates it came down 3 time on the update day.

Tonight is the next day after the game update and it’s still crashing, Oh what fun I am having, and I’m not even a raider, I would hate to think what is going through there minds about this. For me it’s done and over with, I am not saying I will never come back to eq2, But for now, I am done with EQ2. I have 21 days till my money runs out, and then no more.

To all my friends in EQ2 I thank you for making my time in the game as fun as you have made it, and I look foward to when we play again.

As for my Guild I have left it up and in my friend Gulmuth’s and in my brother’s hands.

Alik Steel

September 24, 2009 - Posted by | EverQuest II | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I was thinking the same thing…”the server _still_ crashes whenever there’s a game update?” I love the server community, both in game and on the forums, so I will stick this one out. If enough old-timers leave, though, it might be time to move on too.

    Comment by Chris | September 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Good Luck in all of your travels! 🙂

    Comment by Sinnir | September 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’ll miss having you around in the game Nat. I’ll keep up with you through your post though.

    Comment by Gulmuth | September 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

