Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

World of Warcraft Experiment


Yesterday I did a post just to see how many hit’s I would get from a wow post. So I just put “WOW” as the title. The first line of the post said that WOW was not going to be sold. After that I talked about a blog I read and why I was doing this little experiment. I did this to see if just by putting WOW as the name of the post, and having the first few lines saying somthing about wow would really make my blog hit’s go up. In this case it did not, My hit’s went down (only 47 and that counting all the hit’s of the day). I did not see as much as when I do a post on non-MMO things.

Syncaine told me that with having only three letters W O W as my title, things like google would not even pick my posting up. I am on a few other people’s blogs and one or two other sites like Virgin worlds blog list. So I always get a few few hit’s from them any time I do a post. But on this one I had less, Maybe it was the time of day I posted it, or it may have just been a bad day for a blog posting. I don’t know, So I have added a new name for this post and will just edit this one in the morning to let you know just how many hit’s you get when you play the big blog game.

 

 

and remember “Yesterday is history, Tomorrow is a mystery, But today is a gift. That is why it is called the present”

Alik Steel

August 28, 2009 - Posted by | Alik Steel | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I only follow leads from virginworlds, so if you are there I am clicking.

    On the other hand, syncain’s 8 ways to blog success is about as obvious as expecting people to turn heads if you yell asshole in a crowd.

    Comment by Coppertopper | August 28, 2009 | Reply

    • I think the how to be a big blogger was more of a joke than any thing, because you are right about the yelling in a crowd, and see how many people look. But what I am trying to see is if I will have more people come to my little site just because I have WOW in the name of the post, and maybe a line or two about WOW in the post. If now that I have World of Warcraft and it get a crap load of hit’s, then yes his post was right in the fact that there will be people that use it just to keep there numbers high on the vister list. That is where I think his true part of his blog was. The fact that people use titles of there post just to make money. What ever gets you the most hit’s pays you the best. WOW was just one little part in his post, but WOW is also the biggest MMO out there so it will be the more easy of things to try.

      Comment by Alik Steel | August 28, 2009 | Reply

      • Yeah, I sometimes take the cynical bloggers too seriously, but no doubt he has a point there. I remember Jeff Green talking about how putting WoW on the cover of magazines had the same effect.

        I follow WoW, EQ2, WAR, and AoC threads. Those are the 4 biggies so no doubt any mention of those will get you new hits, bot or otherwise ; )

        Comment by coppertopper | August 29, 2009

  2. Surely it would give you more traffic if you used a less competitive term? WoW is about as competititve as you can get in SEO terms.

    Comment by Casey | August 31, 2009 | Reply

  3. Having WOW in the name is only part of it in my view. You gotta have good onsite SEO too and then great backlinks if you really want to increase your hits! Having WOW in the title is only part of the equation!

    Comment by Jason Stein | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. cool

    http://wowguidesandtip.blogspot.com

    Comment by kunu56 | November 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

