Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

I just did it!!!


I just had my last smoke, A co-worker and I was talking allmost two weeks ago and he told me about the new up-graded sin tax on smakes. As we was talking I did something that I had not done in a very long time. I added up how much money it takes me to smoke. Around $1,200 a year is what I have paid for some time now. That was a shock, I kill about 20 packs per week. I allway thought about what it would take to stop smoking. Now I know, Around $1,200 a year.

 

So as any one who has stoped or lives with some one who has stoped smoking, The next few weeks will be hell on me and every one around me.

 

Oh and if you are asking why today was the last time I smoked and not two weeks ago? It was because I had allready spent the money on two cartons and was not going to trash them, Or give them away. Allso, I think I need time to get my mind ready for this epic battle I am about to have with myself.

 

Alik Steel

p.s. It has only been about 15 minutes and I allready want one……This is going to hurt.

March 18, 2009 - Posted by | Alik Steel

8 Comments »

  1. $1,200 seems pretty low for that much smoking. A Marlboro carton here is $30ish so $60 a week for 52 weeks is around $3100. Obviously, what you smoke and where you live could change that a bit, but 1,200 seems really low. In any case, good luck!

    Comment by Kanthalos | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi. I’m a total stranger who clicked through from VirginWorlds.com. I wanted to wish you all the best with this quest! I bet that lots of folks (including some you’ve never met) are pulling for you on this one.

    Be strong.

    Comment by Chris | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. Good, now you can spend that money on something proper (like games!).

    Good luck.

    Comment by heartless_ | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. Keep it up, man! You can DO EEETTT!!

    Beau

    Comment by Beau | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. I wish you luck! I’ve tried to stop smoking, but the lack of will power and chain smoking during raids doesn’t help!

    Comment by Grump | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. So…
    How is this going for you?

    Comment by Akely | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  7. Was not able to cold turky the dang thing. I went back for one day and counted what I smoked in a day. 38 per day, Just shy of two packs.

    The 100% smoke free made me very sick, and if I had a week without work I may have even tryed to push on, but with me dealing with the public as a cargo agaent, I was not able to help being as sick as I was getting.

    I talked to a lot of people and came out with a need to step dowm a little at a time. This week I stepped down to a pack and a half. thats 3o per day. This is going good. Next week will be harder, I am going to drop down to only a pack a day. This will take a lot of will power, but with me still smoking I don’t think I will get sick from it. Week three I will drop 5 more. Week four I will drop five more. This will put me at a half a pack per day. The plane goes to droping two per week at that time. Till I get down to only two a week. After that I will drop one, and only have one smoke per day for that week. If all goes they way they tell me. I will cut a lot of the DT(being sick) out.

    After the way I felt them first two day, It’s hard for me to see it, but I will beat this, Even if I have to miss work to get this done, I will be smoke free.

    Alik Steel

    Comment by Alik Steel | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  8. To bad you started again. Thats the hard part. Stop smoking is easy, not beginning again is very hard.

    Don’t stop trying. One day you’ll make it.

    Comment by Akely | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

