Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

Looking for a book that I can’t remember the name of…[EDIT] found


I need help, plzs help me out. There is  a book I read a good 10 years ago that I can’t remember the Name of, Not only that I can’t remember any of the characters names in the book. What I do remember is just bits of parts of it it. Here is what little I remeber (Othere than remembering it was very good)

I beleave this was writen by a woman back in the 1930’s or 1940’s. (it may be not even close to that time frame)

The main character was a woman that takes over a railroad co.

She (being the main character) befriends a man that comes up with a new metal.

The country (USA and maybe the rest of the world) is in a depression of some type and starts trying to take things from rich (as I remember it was maybe more from the people that get things done) and give to the othere’s that did nothing for it.

I allso remember something like poeple keep saying things like ” It’s not my fault”

Later on the Woman and her new (the man) friend find a new type of motor or engine. It does not run, and is missing parts, So they go looking for who makes it.

The story goes on and every time they come close to finding some one who knows something about it, They come up missing.

In the mean time the goverment is taking more and more of the companies from them.

Close to the end(or it seems close to the end) of the book you find that all the mover and shakers of the world is all living in one place, and letting the rest of the world go to hell.

In the end it seems that the main character (the woman) goes back to help fix the USA ( or the world) to come out of the depression.

Does this ring a bell with any one?

Alik Steel

[EDIT] Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for the email’s

Here is the info I was looking for: Ayn Rand’s ‘Atlas Shrugged’ [1957]

March 12, 2009 - Posted by | Alik Steel

4 Comments »

  1. I thought you were kind of kidding for a minute, but then I saw the answer you got at the bottom, hehe. I’m actually reading it right now, only 60 pages in, though 🙂

    Comment by Kanthalos | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. P.S. There is a movie in the works set for 2011 if anyone is interested.

    Comment by Kanthalos | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. I would love to say WOOT about the movie, It is cool that they are making one from it, But movies tend to kill the greatness of a book. To much has to be cut out to make it fit 90 minutes.
    Oh and hope I did not spoil it for you with what little I could remember.
    Hope you injoy the rest of the book, I’m about to buy it myself.

    Alik Steel

    Comment by Alik Steel | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. TBH, I knew after the first two clues, so I only read the first three, so don’t worry about it 🙂

    Comment by Kanthalos | March 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

