Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

Is WOW the last WOW for MMO’s?


 

I don’t play WOW and unless all my othere games go under I don’t see me ever playing it, but I know there is a lot of you out there that do play it and that means that it must have something to it that keeps you all into it far as long as it has. I would have to think that it has to do with the Wowfactor of coming across a game that just has every thing that you ever wanted out of a game. EQ had that way about it for me. I think the only reason I left that game was because I was getting into it’s little brother EQ2.

The first time you log into a game, Has a lot to do with if you play it for every thing you can or if it’s a game that you play for a bit then sit it to the side. Just going back to it from time to time. There has only been a few MMO’s that has even done that. Don’t get me wrong, what ever game you my be playing may be that game for you and thats great. But what I am talking about is the games that set the bar for all othere MMO’s. EQ was the first to do it, Then came WOW and made the numbers that played EQ look like it was second hand game.

Now WOW has been out for a few years now, Not real sure how long, but for sure a few years. And we have all read time and time again about this new MMO was going to be the wow killer. I don’t think there will ever be a WOW killer. I beleave that WOW will go on for many more years and getting smaller as it does, Untill it ends up like all the othere MMO’s out there now.

Speaking of all them othere MMO’s out there, I beleave they are the reason that there will never be anothere WOW again. There is just to much out there to pick from. True when WOW first went live there was some othere MMO’s out there. but nothing like it is now. All the free-to-play and browser MMO’s on top of what is out there now. Some old with a few new. We have never had so many MMO’s and it’s only going to grow in number. With so much to pick from, and so many hiting in there on nich. Everyone not going to all go running to only one game. It’s just never going to happen again. Unless something bad happens and all but one or two MMO’s are all that there is left.

 

It’s time to face it. The old days are dead and we have moved into a time where MMO’s are becoming just like the console games, and every one and there brother seem’s to be making a MMO.

 

Alik Steel

March 1, 2009 - Posted by | General MMO stuff

2 Comments »

  1. Play WoW. You owe yourself the pleasure.

    Then go play any of the other games out there and you’ll know why WoW is where its at. WoW has honestly spoiled me on any other game. The things WoW does right are so simple that they are hard to write down in a blog post. You honestly need to take a few hours and play WoW.

    Now, I don’t play WoW any longer. Playing any game for a period of time, players get the system down and start focusing the minute details which ruins any game. No game is perfect, but WoW does a hell of a job to distract you from its flaws.

    Comment by heartless_ | March 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. I can understand why you could never imagine yourself playing WoW. WoW is the first MMO I ever played. I leveled a paladin to level 60 in the pre-BC days. I had fun while I was levelling, but for me the game ended shortly after I reached level 60 and I couldn’t stand levelling an alt. The first time through WoW was magical, but the second time? Ugh!

    Then I switched to EQ2 and I can’t ever imagine going back to WoW. EQ2 just offers so much more than WoW ever did to me.

    I think there could be a game that winds up surpassing WoW’s numbers, but it will be difficult. The problem is that people don’t want to give a game the 1 1/2 to 3 years it will take to gather millions of subscribers. If a game doesn’t rival WoW in 3 to 6 months, people ask what went wrong. And when the game doesn’t meet expectations, it doesn’t matter how good the game is, people will start to flock to the next game, ensuring no one rivals WoW.

    Comment by Noizy | March 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

