Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

Dusting off the old blog as I start playing Xsyon again.


Hey, Hi, and Hello again!

 It’s been a long time, Way to long, But there are reasons for that. non that I will get into here, Well maybe one. Burn out, And not just on games. I’m talking most of any thing to do online. It was as if I hit a wall, And I could not find fun in anything I tried to do. I have been gaming and online for a long time now, And I have taken small breaks from time to time. But this time I had to walk away from almost all of it for a few months. But I’m back now, And finding fun again.

Burn Out

After wanting to build a kick but gaming rig for years and years this year I did. Two years ago, I think it was, My old, Even for back then, Desk top died on me. It was never anything you would call a gaming rig, But it let me play most anything I wanted, Even if I did have to lower the setting way down in the game to play it. So this year I said to myself, You know there is a lot I could do with that TAX money I’m getting back, But dang it I’m going to do what I want and not what I should do. This may come back and bite me on the butt later. But I did it!  OK I didn’t build it myself, I had my younger brother pick it all out for me and build it. But it was my money, And this my blog so I’m going to say I built a gaming rig. And it’s nice, What few games I have put on it, I can run full-out high setting and still have high frame rates. This by it self maybe one of the reasons I’m having fun again.

After my desktop died two years ago, I ran out and got a laptop, My reasons for buying a laptop was two-fold. I want something now and didn’t want to wait a week or more, And I have been wanting a laptop for a long time. So I saw this as something I could do and be back online and playing, And also have a laptop for trips. Something that I really wanted. Funny thing is I have not went anywhere sence I had the laptop. And on top of that, Because I wanted something NOW!!! and could not wait a week or so to order and put together a gaming rig, Heck just an OK desk top. I went out and got a laptop that I had the money for. Not the best way to go shopping for a computer, Laptop or desk top, Bad move all together.

So for the next two years I have been stuck trying to play MMO’s on a laptop that was way under stect for really any game that was not browser-based. It even had a hard time with Wurm Online, And that’s bad, If you don’t know what I mean. Go check out the game on YouTube, And you will see what I mean. It has been like walking up to a wall and just standing there bashing my head into the wall over and over. This helped because after beating your head on a wall, Your eyes sight goes all blurry and you don’t see the game so framed this way. For real, It was hard trying to learn to play games this way, But MMO’s was what I did to relax. I don’t go clubbing, drinking, or anything really. So what do you do when your only outlet to relax is taken away from you. You find away around it some how. For me, It was learning to play games that almost looked like a slide show because the frame rates would get so bad.

Bad frame rates was not the only reason for burn out, It was a big part of it for sure, But not the only reason. Just before my desktop died on me I was told about a little MMO game called Xsyon. So I looked into it and fell in love with it before I could ever even play it. As things went on the members of Xsyon started make guilds, Tribe as they are called in Xsyon. So I hooked up with this one tribe called Hopi, It seemed like the best thing to do, As I had no wish to make my own tribe that would have sounded a lot like Hopi. Almost from the start of joining the tribe the creator of the tribe and I started butting heads. Stuff like he wanted a ten man tribe, And I saw a ten man tribe as a tribe that would only have one or two people playing at best. I have been in small and large based guilds and I understand the number games of what member count and active players mean. Other things came up two, But it was more or less always about the members count that we butted heads about. So as time went on the leader of our small tribe played less and less. Now this was for one reason only, There was not much to do in Xsyon. He found other games to play, Any way at one point I knew he was not coming back, So I started pushing the other’s in the guild to pick a new leader. I wanted to know some one was running this thing. But no one seemed to care so I left Hopi for the first time. Joining a very active tribe, At lest at that time they was. Mean time back at Hopi they went into Oh Crap mode. One of the most active in-game and on the forums people left the tribe(Me). They freaked out and almost over night started to get active. Mean time the very active tribe I was in had a full guild burn out and went to another game. And from what I understand, They are still there and having fun in that other game. So with hat in hand I went back to Hopi, Can I please rejoin Hopi. So they let me back in the tribe.

I think of this as Hopi part two of a three-part Hopi saga. As I rejoined my friends I find out that they did have a new leader, And plans was being made. Let me stop here and say that this was one of the reasons I left, Everything I did to try to get people active and make plans went without anyone even acting as if I had said anything. So now this was happening, Plan’s, Active players, People to talk to and play with. Good times, Till our new leader fell off the map. One day she was there and making plans and the next nothing. Dang it!!! I was starting to think there was some type of cures for us using the Hopi tribe name. So a month or two and no word, Then out of the blue she pops up on the Xsyon leadership forums telling us she had been sick and to give her a few days and she would be back again. Let mes top here again, And say that this was the last time I have seen anything from her. I have no idea what ever happen to her. Now we are without a leader again, So we start talking about it, Or should I say I started talking about it. Pushing and pushing for us to pick a new leader. Let me point out that I was not trying to become the leader, I was find letting other’s lead as long as they kelp us going and not just sitting around waiting for other stuff to happen in-game.

So they picked me to be leader, Wait that’s not right, They picked me to be the to lead to one of our other leaders returned. I told them that they need to think real hard on this. Because I knew what I wanted and if I had the power I would do it. And do it I did, We grew, and grew, To we was the biggest tribe in Xsyon. The game was going live, Or so we thought, Check out my blog to read that story. Any way tons of people and fun happening all around. Now remember that I’m playing on a laptop that hates Xsyon. Not that that mattered much at all. As most my time was spent dealing with guild drama. Hopi grew way to fast. I was spending hours just dealing with PM’s of what he said, what she said type of things. Other tribes wanting in on how many people we had active, And others’ that just wanted to troll us. I worked hard to keep things from getting out of hand, But they did. So I added new leaders to the mix to help on work load. The two guy’s I pick was not bad guy’s they just didn’t see the tribe the same way I did. And I didn’t know that when I gave them the power. As I backed off to take a small break they took over all parts of the tribe and by the time I knew what was going on the Hopi I knew and loved was no long there any more. In two weeks I went from the leader of the biggest tribe in Xsyon to walking away from it altogether.

This was also about the time that I was hitting that burn out wall, Because all this took about a year and a half to happen. So this was not an over night thing that happen. I tried taking small breaks and coming back, But with real life things happen and the thought of what had just happen in my MMO home. I just walked away.

So I don’t know if this is the start of me blogging once a week or still once ever so often. But this is a new start. I’m happy online and in-game again, I’m with a small tribe and having fun again. Xsyon Mercenaries is a great tribe and I have high hopes for it. So till the next we talk, Have a great weekend

~Alik Steel

April 7, 2012 - Posted by | Alik Steel, Xsyon | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. [...] ! Free Gaming PortalTomb Raider – a personal view of a favourite game seriesDusting off the old blog as I start playing Xsyon again. #header { background: url(http://newxperiaplaygames.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/header1.jpg); } [...]

    Pingback by King Pirate | | April 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

