Entertainment on Saturday

This is my Opinion!!! A gamers blog

Not understanding why they don’t understand (PvP)


The MMO that I am waiting for is called Xsyon and it’s going to be an open sandbox game. So this means PVP. I only have been into pvp for about a year over in EQ2. I was in two guilds that I really enjoyed. The first one was on day one that EQ2 pvp server’s went live. After the drama ripped that guild apart(I was apart of the drama). I found myself becoming apart of a podcast pvp guild. Both guilds was short-lived and after the 2nd guild dying I started thinking one of the things that took them down was the fact we was dealing with so much pvp, And people was taking things way too serious. So I went back to my carebear ways, And have enjoyed it very much. But as so many things do, My taste in what I like to do in MMO’s has changed. But it seems that the only way to play a game that has features that I like is to be apart of a MMO that is open sandbox and full of pvp.

So here is somethings that I read over at the Xsyons forums. He is talking about Darkfall.

But, yeah. That account was a beast, my bank was fuckin’ full of stuff too.

If only the core player base of that game weren’t chicken-shit pre-teens, I might have still played. Sucked spending 2 hours running around looking for PvP only to find nothing … or a group of 20+ people cause they’re scared to fight alone.

I read things like this all the time from player vs. players all the time from many sites. But this is what I don’t understand why they don’t understand. If all you like to do is pvp, And looting your victim is how you make your riches. The only way for you to make loot, Is that the victim has to make it first. And I know this may be tough to understand, But people don’t like having all their stuff taken every time they go out. And for people like me that suck at pvp(and yet I still like being in a pvp fight from time to time) will start going out with reinforcement in hopes that with numbers on our side we may be able to make our loot and make it back home without dying and having it ripped from our dead body.

Another thing that I don’t understand why they don’t understand is that when player vs players get what they want in the way that they run all people who is not into pvp as much as they are, out of the game. They get upset that there just no one left for them to kill. I really don’t understand this, So many of you tell us non-pvp players that we shouldn’t be playing if we want pvp. And when we do leave, You call us names for not staying, because now the game seems empty.

Now not all is bad when it comes to a PvP. The one thing that I love about PvP, Is that feeling that death is always right around corner. And that feeling you get when you go out to get something done and make it back home without dying. I think this maybe something that the some top end PvP players may never know. Because they win more times than not, And there is no real feeling of happiness on making it back alive. They never know the feeling of running away and winning the race for your life. There is a lot of great things that is in a pvp world, But if you never have them little wins of living, Not sure how long any non-pvp player will stick around a game like that you never find yourself with a win from time to time. And to be fair, I know there is a lot I don’t understand about what it means to be a real player vs player and the feeling that you get out of the kill, or maybe it’s the loot that gives you that warm feeling.  Is it more about showing off your skill? I just don’t know, But I would really like to know what PvP players get out of it. When I was into PvP, I was never a lone wolf, I ran in packs and was a apart of a few server wars. But that was EQ2 and it’s PvP was not like what most think of as PvP so I’m not sure if some of you will count that as PvP.

Alik Steel

October 16, 2010 - Posted by | MMO PvP | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I have some times wondered the same things you have. I enjoy pvp, but I hardly do solo pvp just cause I am not a pvp player and not that good at it. Instead of getting ganked around every corner, I take a pack of friends who probably suck at pvp just as much as I do and it equals the playing field and makes it fun…some of the most fun times I’ve had in pvp were in AOC with 4 of my friends ambushing other groups in the area.

    I have never really understood why pvp players take advantage of lowbies for one, or new players for two because if you gank and just continuously kill someone at the start they aren’t going to want to stay. Then pvp complains that there’s not enough population but most of the population decline is by their own doing…so I agree somethings I just don’t understand either.

    I will try pvp in most games I start but usually I will migrate to pve just because I like to be able to get things done without dying 50 times to people who think it’s fun to spawn camp.

    Comment by Starseeker | October 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

